About Neighborhood Falmouth



Neighborhood Falmouth (NF) is part of a growing national movement to promote continuing community residence for older Americans. Our organization is patterned after the first such effort, Beacon Hill Village, which began offering services in Boston in 2001. There are now some 350 independent “villages” in operation or in some phase of organization around the US, most sharing information and experience through the online VtV (Village-to-Village) Network. We seek members, volunteers, and donors to join our effort to make our homes safe havens as we age. Nearly 60 individuals and households formed our initial membership group at startup in April 2009, and we have grown to 130 members.

Neighborhood Falmouth members, staff, and volunteers collaborate to help matureFalmouth citizens continue to enjoy our multi-generational community from the comfort of their own homes. One phone call or email to the NF office connects members with staff and volunteers to help with light home maintenance, transportation, assistance with electronic items, emergency pet care, home monitoring, and daily telephone check-ins, just to name some of the services we provide. We see ourselves as partners with other service agencies in Falmouth, together helping members learn all that is available and encouraging and facilitating participation in existing programs.

Falmouth residents age 50 or older who pay NF membership fees become members of a corporation charged with electing a 15- to 25-member board of directors at an annual meeting. The board of directors selects five officers to oversee day-to-day operations. NF is incorporated under Commonwealth of Massachusetts law and has nonprofit status under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

Staff, Governance & Advisors


Executive Director

Susan Loucks

Coordinator of Volunteers

Laura Sonnichsen

Neighborhood Falmouth Officers

Ken Peal, President

Bobye Anderson, Vice President

Karen Rinaldo,Treasurer

Grant Willis, Secretary/Clerk

Other Members of the Corporation

Michael Bihari

Carol Chittenden

Jack Easterling

Marcia Easterling

Martha Gavenas

Mary Pat MacKenzie

Robert McIntire

Rebecca Moffitt

Karen Roberts

Tom Sbarra

Gretchen Sweeny

Janet Totten

Lee Turner

Tanya White


Honorary Directors

Vicky Cullen
Joanne Voorhis

Advisory Council

Eric Asendorf
Jill Irving Bishop

Ron Garcia
Margaret Gifford
William Hough

Scoba Rhodes

Pamela Rothstein
Alan Steinbach

Susan Shephard
Eric Turkington

Jay Zavala